It is legal in most waters. Black bass must be released when captured. You don`t need a license to spear fish in salt water, but you do need to register with the New Jersey Saltwater Recreational Registry Program. You cannot skewer lobsters. Spearfishing is legal from February 1 to May. The user must be completely overwhelmed. For Californians, an annual spearfishing license equivalent to a fishing license costs about $51.02. Non-residents must spend $137.73 to obtain the same permit. Veterinarians with disabilities can apply for a licence at a reduced price, which costs only between $7.73 and $8.13. All certificates are valid from 1 January to 31 December of the same year. Please note that all inland waters, as well as various areas along the coast, are closed to spearfishing. For more information, see Spearfishing Closures.
The same rules and regulations apply to spear fishermen with respect to catch restrictions and size restrictions, including the following: When it comes to Hawaii, the rules of the game change drastically. We`re not just talking about fish species, warm water and incredible underwater landscapes. We also mean the rules that govern the act of spearfishing itself. Since you are not allowed to fish with spears inland, here we will focus on regulating spearfishing on the coast. In general, the rules here apply to size and pocket restrictions for different species. For example, the Bluefish has a pocket limit of 3 per day per person. A wahoo, on the other hand, is limited to 2 per day and so on. Spearfishing is legal. Alaska has specific regulations regarding the amount and type of fish you can bring with you per day. See here. If you find Oregon`s spearfishing laws too restrictive, it`s worth making the trip to Washington, where you can drill fish into both freshwater and saltwater bodies. But Oregon still has its unique charms both in the landscape and fish species, making it a must-see for any serious spear fisherman.
The last port in New England where we will dock before taking a vacation is Connecticut. You can go fishing here in fresh and salt water. A New Hampshire license isn`t welcome here, but again, you don`t have to make a fuss about it. Any other New England license will work well in Connecticut. Washington State takes spearfishing seriously and even offers a mobile app to help spear fishermen get the most out of the sport. In addition, the rules and regulations adopted by the state are more lenient and permissive than in other states such as California and Florida. For example, the size of the game you`re allowed to skewer is a bit vague. It is legal to bite non-wild fish.
Wild fish can only be skewered with spears in certain places. Spearfishing is legal for carp, suckers and catfish. They cannot fish in certain waters regulated by the state. You can catch underwater fish to catch non-sport fish in waters “open to diving and diving under the skin.” Spears must be attached to a harpoon or a person on a leash. Spears with explosive charges are illegal. Australia only allows recreational spearfishing and generally breathless diving. State and territory governments impose many restrictions, delineating marine protected areas, restricted areas, protected species, size/bag restrictions, and equipment. The body primarily involved in underwater fishing is the Australian Underwater Federation, Australia`s leading recreational diving organization.
The AUF`s vision for spearfishing is “Safe, Sustainable, Selective, Spearfishing”. The AUF offers memberships, advocacy and competitions.  For Texans who want to go underwater fishing, they only need a fishing licence. There is one for fresh water and another for salt water. The freshwater licence costs $30 and covers 231 species of fish. The saltwater permit costs $35 and contains 235 species. An all-water package costs $40, but allows you to fish in any type of water. Maine`s rules and regulations apply primarily to freshwater and spearfish fisheries. They worry about the pocket limit and the size of the fish.
For example, the different types of trout (brook trout, brown, rainbow and togue) are limited to 2 pieces per bag and the minimum size ranges from 6 inches for brown trout to 18 inches for togg. Spearfishing is only legal for non-wild fish. The daily limit is 50 fish. There are no limits to goldfish and carp. Competitive spearfishing is defined by CMAS as “the hunting and capture of fish underwater without the aid of artificial breathing apparatus, with equipment that depends entirely on the physical strength of the competitor”. They publish a set of contest rules used by affiliated organizations.   The United States has different rules for spearfishing for each state. In Florida, spearfishing is limited to several hundred feet offshore in many areas, and the use of a drive head is prohibited in state waters. Many fish species are currently subject to severe pocket restrictions. [ref.
needed] In California, only recreational spearfishing is allowed. California also imposes many restrictions, delineating marine protected areas, restricted areas, protected species, size/bag restrictions, and equipment.  Although Washington and California share the same view of the Pacific Ocean at the forefront, the difference in temperature means you can warp some marine life in Washington`s waters that doesn`t exist at a few latitudes to the south. But that`s the only benefit you get from going to the Washington coast for spearfishing. The problem with New England is that it is a close-knit community with its distinct character. This means that if you get a fishing license in New Hampshire, for example, you can use it in Maine. This is very useful not only for local enthusiasts, but also for tourists who want to enjoy underwater fishing throughout the northeastern coastal region. It`s legal, but some fish have harvest limits when caught with spears.
See here. Inshore fishing, which involves spearfishing, costs $6 for a resident and $11 for a non-resident. It is also a 10-day license. If you are looking for a longer period, an annual permit costs $16 for the resident and $32 for the non-resident. A resident can also get a combined $41 licence for a full year and fish wherever they want. The good news is that you don`t need a special license to go spearfishing in Florida.